# Minutes of Steeton Cricket Club Annual General Meeting 19/11/2008 7.30pm The Pavilion, Steeton Cricket Club

#### **Members Present**

President, Chairman (David Emmott), Secretary, Treasurer (Steve Manthorp), Julian Higginson, David Procter, Jonathan Best, Steve Manthorp, Gabriel Manthorp, James Procter, Ross Suri, Phil Barrett, Kim Pollard, John Pollard, Phil Akrigg, Neil Wilson, John Akrigg, Neil Spragg, Matthew Thomas, Mick Hardwick, David Cook, Frank Gledhill, Chris Karakiozakis, Andy Luxton, Brian Tunney, Gary Boulton, James Emmott.

## **Apologies**

Paul Hardwick, David Robinson, Alex Gledhill.

#### 2007 AGM

The minutes of the 2007 AGM were read and approved by James Emmott and Mick Hardwick

## Chairman's report

The Chairman gave a verbal report. David Emmott stated that he thought this was the worst season for the weather that he had ever known and that it made it a hard long season for both players and ground staff alike. David Emmott regrettably informed the committee that at senior level the club had no success in 2008 but that for the first eleven the door to promotion was open until the last match of the season. David Emmott congratulated the U17 on becoming league champions. David Emmott mentioned that is was happy to see five junior sides in operation but commented that this puts a strain on managers and that many helpers are required to sustain this number of teams. David Emmott was encouraged to see and number of our junior members performing well in our senior sides.

On a sad note David Emmott mentioned the loss of Roy Barrett who was a stalwart of the club and a prior Chairman. David Emmott stated he and many others would miss Roy's dry sense of humour.

David Emmott is standing down after 10/11 years as Chairman completed in a number of periods. David Emmott thanked the committee and the members for their assistance in his times as Chairman and felt that the club was in good shape with more players taking an active role in the club. David Emmott highlighted though that major projects, the roof and nets still require completion and that will take more effort.

David Emmott concluded by stating it had been an honour to be Chairman of Steeton CC and wished all the best for the future.

# **Treasurers Report**

The auditor provided the accounts in hard copy for all members to read. Steve Manthorp highlighted a few areas:

- Significant cost on ground upkeep but this was down to over £3,000 on a new mower.
- Bar profits have increased to over £11,000
- Ladies profits down but this was due to the poor weather throughout the 2008 season.
- Subs were being held steady at increase levels.
- Mitchell Inns loan has now been repaid.

Steve Manthorp thanked Phil Barrett for producing the accounts in such a professional and timely manner.

## **Election of Officers**

Officials Proposed	Proposed	Seconded
President - Tom Barritt	John Akrigg	Jon Best
Chairman - John Akrigg	Steve Manthorp	Tom Barritt
At this point John Akrigg took over the meeting as Chair		
Vice Chairman - Gary Boulton	John Akrigg	Neil Spragg
Secretary - Mick Wilson	Steve Manthorp	Phil Barrett
Treasurer - Julian Higginson	Dave Emmott	Phil Akrigg
Auditors - Phil Barrett / Alex Howarth	Jon Best	Dave Emmott
Sponsorship Secretary - John Pollard	James Emmott	Gary Boulton
200 Club secretary - Neil Wilson	John Akrigg	Phil Akrigg
Bar Committee - John Pollard , David Hedges & Michael Wilson	James Emmott	J Higginson
Development Manager - David Proctor	James Emmott	Phil Akrigg
Ground Staff - Dave Emmott, Phil Akrigg, Dave Shackleton & Graham Hodgson.	James Emmott	Chris Karakiozakis
A & W League Rep - Jon Best	John Akrigg	Julian Higginson
UAJCL Rep - Dave Procter	Tom Barritt	Phil Akrigg
General Committee - En bloc as per constitution plus Phil Barrett, Dave Emmott,	Julian Higginson	James Emmott
Co-opted committee members - Gabe Manthorp & Ross Suri	John Akrigg	Chris Karakiozakis
Co-opted committee member - Matt Thomas	John Akrigg	Julian Higginson

All the above were passed unanimously

**Election of captains** – the first and second eleven captains and vice captains were elected at the players meeting. These were:

Team	Captains	Vice Captains
First	Jon Best	Neil Spragg
Second	Paul Hardwick	Julian Higginson
Third	TBA	ТВА

The committee ratified unanimously the First and Second Team Captains and Vice Captains. The third team captains and vice will be discussed at the next committee meeting.

Junior Team Managers

James seam managere			
Managers Proposed	Proposed	Seconded	
Under 9 - Frank Gledhill/ Ron	John Akrigg	David Cook	
Clough			
Under 11 – John Akrigg	Gary Boulton	David Cook	
Under 13 – Mick Wilson	Phil Barrett	Julian Higginson	
Under 15 - Matthew Thomas	Gary Boulton	Chris Karakiozakis	
Under 17 - Gary Boulton	John Akrigg	Jonathan Best	

The above was passed unanimously.

## **Selection Committee**

The current committee comprising the three captains and Mick Wilson was agreed. The Chairman asked for any other nominations from the floor. Phil Akrigg agreed to go on the committee and as there were no other nominations Phil was elected to the committee.

## Subscriptions and Match fees

## **Match fees**

Mick Wilson advised the members that it had been agreed by the committee that they would propose that match fees remain at current levels for all members. David Emmott proposed this at the AGM with the committee backing. Matthew Thomas proposed that full time students pay the same as juniors, namely £2.50.

Member's votes 14 -5 to keep match fees at current levels. No change.

## **Subscriptions**

#### **Players**

John Pollard proposed an increase to £40, seconded Phil Barrett - 13 votes carried Dave Emmott proposed they stay the same, seconded James Emmott - 6 votes

Result - Increase to £40 carried

## **Juniors**

Julian Higginson proposed an increase to £30, seconded John Pollard - 2 votes Frank Gledhill proposed an increase to £25, seconded Steve Manthorp, 6 votes Gary Boulton proposed they stay at £20, seconded Neil Wilson, 13 votes **Result - Remain at £20 carried.** 

#### **Vice Presidents**

Steve Manthorp proposed an increase to £25, seconded Neil Spragg - 8 votes -carried Phil Barrett proposed an increase to £20, seconded Mick Hardwick, 7 votes Brian Tunney proposed they stay at £15, seconded Gary Boulton, 5 votes Result - Increase to £25 minimum

## Family membership

Dave Emmott proposed they stay the same, seconded Phil Barrett, carried unanimously Result – as before

## Rule amendments

Mick Wilson introduced a raft of amendments to the constitution to bring us in line with best practice and current rules and regulations including licensing laws. These proposed changes had been agreed at the November committee meeting and required passing by members at the AGM. MRW took members through the main changes namely the method of electing captains. Jonathan Best agreed to a slight amendment to his proposals regarding rule 6c (iii). Members wished the captains nominated to declare their intended vice –captain at the committee meeting arranged for the purpose of electing captains and that should only one nomination be forthcoming that the captain should still be required to present before the committee.

The revised constitution was passed unanimously.

#### **AOB**

Club Dinner is arranged for 28/2/09 at Steeton Hall

Meeting closed 8.55 pm Next AGM 18 November 2009, 7.30 pm