Minutes of Steeton Cricket Club Annual General Meeting 11th November 2015 7:30pm The Tom Barritt Pavilion, Steeton Cricket Club

Members present:

Phil Barrett, Julian Higginson, Kim Pollard, Julie Wilson, Keith Meakin, Mick Wilson, Craig Walton, Oliver Gledhill, Dave Gledhill, Josh Gill, Adam Hardwick, Brendan & Karen Cox, John Pollard, Dave Procter, Frank Gledhill, Geraldine Barrett, Paul Hardwick, Toni Birch, Alf Klava, Hayden Tennant, Mark Chapman, Neil Wilson, Stevie Pearson, Andrew Foulds, James Emmott,

Apologies

David Robinson, James Yeadon, Phil Akrigg

2014 AGM Minutes

Michael Wilson read the 2014 Minutes-Approved by James Emmott – seconded by Paul Hardwick

Chairman's Report

An editied version of John Akrigg's speech is below:

Juniors – best year he's known – Cup and League winners. Great watching the promising young players.

Third team – entertaining, great watching the young promising players starting their senior carreers.

Second Team – excellent – winning the Birtwhistle cup for the first time.

First team – kept 1st division status.

The club is in a good financial position. John Akrigg thanked members for all their hard work. Tea ladies, ground staff, bar staff and the general committee were thanked. John stressed we are envied by local clubs for what we have got and achieved.

Looking forward to 2016 John stressed worries regarding the commitment of senior players. We need some new blood to help run the club. We have achieved so much over the next 10 years on and off the field and don't want to let this go to waste.

We go into next season with the loss of two members – Jonathon Best and Neil Spragg and also without an overseas.

John stressed his confidence that Steeton CC could be a benchmark club for the league promoting local unpaid players and youth. It's going to be hard but if we enjoy it and people put the effort in we will achieve it and enjoy it and this is what counts. Best of luck and well done to everyone this year.

Treasurer's report

The statement of accounts was shared with all. Phil Barrett was thanked for his work on the accounts.

Headlines:

Scorer and umpire fees have increased significantly.

£6,200 banked from the Bonfire. An overall increase on last year.

Bar – profit has increased slightly to 32%

Still owe £12,000 on the ECB loan

Election of Officers

Officials Proposed	Proposed	Seconded
President – Phil Barrett	Steve Pearson	James Emmott
Chairman – John Akrigg	Mark Chapman	Hayden Tennant
Vice Chairman – Hayden Tennent	John Akrigg	Julian Higginson
Secretary – Mick Wilson	Paul Hardwick	Keith Meekin
Treasurer – Julian Higginson	Toni Birch	Craig Walton
Auditor – Phil Barrett	Dave Gledhill	Julian Higginson
Sponsorship Secretary – Julian	Adam Hardwick	Dave Proctor
Higginson,		
200 Club secretary - Neil Wilson &	Hayden Tennant	Julian Higginson
John Pollard		
Bar Committee – John Pollard,	Julie Wilson	John Pollard
Brendan & Karen Cox, Captains to		
organise a rota system for bar cover on		
match days		
Development Manager – Hayden	David Proctor	Toni Birch
Tennent		
Child Welfare Officer – Julie Wilson	John Pollard	Toni Birch
Ground Staff – Dave Emmott, Phil	Adam Hardwick	Paul Hardwick
Akrigg & James Emmott, Mark		
Chapman		
A & W League Rep – Steve Pearson	This is always the	
	first team captain so	
	no proposal needed.	
UAJCL Rep – Keith Meakin	Oliver Gledhill	Mark Chapman
General Committee – Current	Julian Higginson	Mick Wilson
committee (including officers named		
above), Gary Boulton, Phil Austick,		
Dave Robinson, John Pollard, Dave		
Proctor, Keith Meakin, Paul Hardwick,		
Neil Wilson, Captains, Toni Birch,		
Brendan Cox, James Yeadon, James		
Emmott, All to be re-elected en		
mass.		
John Akrigg evaloined los Boot Mark		
John Akrigg explained Jon Best, Mark Pennington, Neil Spragg no longer on		
committee (will be junior but not		
general committee)		
general commutee)	James Emmott	John Pollard
To join – Craig Walton, Nick Brown,	Janics Lillingt	John Foliala
Jack Pearson,		
odok i carson,		

Junior Team Managers

Managers Proposed	Proposed	Seconded
Under 9 – Oliver Gledhill	David Gledhill	Craig Walton
Under 11 - Neil Spragg	David Gledhill	Steve Pearson
Girls – no longer a team		
Under 13 – to be		
discussed at next		
committee meeting		
Under 15 – Keith Meakin	Toni Birch	Mark Chapman
Under 17 – John Akrigg	James Emmott	Toni Birch

Election of captains

The first and third eleven captains were proposed via submission of the required nomination form to the secretary. The following were elected:

Team	Captains	Vice Captains
First	Stephen Pearson	Craig Walton
Second	Paul Hardwick	Luke Watson
Third	Hayden Tennant	Mark Pennington

No submission was received for the second team captaincy by the required date. However Paul Hardwick decided to stand with Luke Watson being his Vice. The AGM accepted this proposal.

Oliver Gledhill and David Gledhill - proposed and seconded.

Selection Committee

The three captains are automatically members of the Selection Committee. These are: Stephen Pearson, Paul Hardwick and Hayden Tennant

Chairman of Selectors – Mick Wilson

Plus - Graham Harrison

Proposed and seconded – James Emmott & Toni Birch

James Emmott suggested Graham Harrison would be a good addition to the general committee – to be asked.

<u>Subscriptions</u>
Slightly more raised than last year. Julian Higginson proposed that they should stay the same subscription £10 and capping fees £8.00 – seconded by James Emmott. Carried.

John Pollard proposed that the training fees should be increased from £1.00 per week. This was discussed and Michael Wilson highlighted that training fees are not covered in the AGM and should be discussed by the general committee.

It was agreed that the junior fees should be kept the same.

Michael Wilson outlined the league change in rules regarding buying a tea at away matches.

Constitution / Rules Changes

No changes suggested. Dave Procter & Michael Wilson to review the constitution to ensure it is still correct and meets YCB recommendations.

<u>Any Other Business</u>
Scorers – are currently paid £20 per match (£10 if a match is rained off). Our scorers have highlighted that this is less than over clubs pay. Julian Higginson explained that the role includes more with electronic scoring and other paperwork after the match. Hayden proposed that scorers are paid an additional £5 with the responsibility of uploading onto play cricket. Seconded by David Gledhill.

John Akrigg explained that 3x iPads are being purchased for the scorers to use for the electronic scoring. It was stressed that this will be new for the scorers and they may need help. Wi-fi will need investing in for the Club to support this.

Closure

Meeting closed at 20.45pm Next meeting Wednesday 9th November 2016.