Season 2014 Summary

Match ReportsAveragesChairman’s ReportFinancial AccountsMinutes of the AGMPhoto GalleryFixture Card


Ground: Summerhill Lane

President: Phillip R. Barrett

Chairman: John P. Akrigg

Vice-Chairman: Jonathan N. Best

Hon. Secretary: Michael R. Wilson

Hon. Treasurer: Julian Higginson

Hon. Auditor: Phillip R. Barrett

Vice-Presidents: Joan Barrett, Nigel Best, Michael T. Greaves, E. Woodman, D. Spragg, Len Wilson, Mrs A. Emmott, R Geldard, Frank Gledhill, Geoff Greenwood, J. Steel, Peter W. Osborn, B. Middleton, David Procter, Brian Barrett, A Price, Paddy Reape, Eric Wilson, Charlie Forrest, David & Janet Gledhill, John Berry, Mrs Green, P Gillett, Albert Bates, R. Benson, Graham Robinson, Phil Austick, T. Smith, D. Kingham, Ian Crosby, T. Robinson, A Simpson, Gillian Manthorp, M Lister, J Cunningham & I.V. Towney

Honorary Life Members: David Shackleton, David J. Emmott, John B. Smith, J. Graham Hodgson, Bryan Tunney, John Pollard, Kim Pollard & Phillip N. Akrigg.

Groundsmen: David J. Emmott, Phillip N. Akrigg, James D. Emmott & Mark A. Chapman

Webmaster: Phillip R. Barrett

200 Club Promoter: Neil A. Wilson

Club Dinner: 7th February 2015 at the Tom Barritt Pavilion

Annual General Meeting: Tom Barritt Pavilion, Wednesday 12th November 2014

Chairman’s Rosebowl for Clubman of the Year: Julian Higginson

Junior Clubman of the Year: TBA

1st XI

League: Airedale and Wharfedale Senior Cricket League First XI Division 1 – 7th Position

Captain: Neil A. Spragg

Vice Captain: John P. Akrigg

Overseas Player: Jonathan Stander

1st XI Player of the Year: Andrew T. Foulds

Batting Award: Andrew T. Foulds

Bowling Award: Jonathan N. Best

Fielding Award: Stephen J. Pearson

Other Competitions: Waddilove Cup (Beat Follifoot (A) but lost to Collingham & Linton (A))

Best Batting Performances: Andrew T. Foulds 91 v Kirkstall Educational

Best Bowling Performances: James L. Emmott 6-54 v Ben Rhydding

2nd XI

League: Airedale and Wharfedale Senior Cricket League Second XI Division 1 – 2nd Position

Captain: Julian Higginson

Vice-Captain: Michael R. Wilson

2nd XI Player of the Year: Michael R. Wilson

Batting Award: Michael R. Wilson

Bowling Award: Joshua T. Gill

Fielding Award: Julian Higginson

Other Competitions: Birtwhistle Cup (Beat Follifoot (H), Collingham & Linton (H), Burley-in-Wharfedale (A), Ben Rhydding (A) but lost in semi-finals to Rawdon (H))

Best Batting Performances: Michael R. Wilson 150* v Collingham & Linton in Birtwhistle cup, Michael R. Wilson 121 at Beckwithshaw, Craig S. Walton 119 at Beckwithshaw & Michael R. Wilson 107* at Rawdon.

Best Bowling Performance: Josh Gill 7-29 at Olicanian

3rd XI

League: Airedale and Wharfedale Senior Cricket League Third XI – 4th Position in Conference B

Captain: Hayden D. Tennant

Vice-Captain: Luke A. Watson

3rd XI Player of the Year: Luke A. Watson

Batting Award: Mark A. Chapman

Bowling Award: Mark D. Pennington

Fielding Award: Phillip R. Barrett

Other Competitions: Chappell Cup (Beat Thackley (A), but lost to Guiseley (A))

Best Batting Performance: Mark A. Chapman 105* at Olicanian

Best Bowling Performance: Luke A. Watson 7-33 at Otley

Junior Prize Winners


Batting Award Bowling Award Fielding Award


Batting Award Bowling Award Fielding Award


Batting Award Bowling Award Fielding Award


Batting Award Bowling Award Fielding Award

Under 9s

Batting Award Bowling Award Fielding Award


On the playing side the Club welcomed new recruit Josh Gill from Upper Wharfedale, who won the 2nd XI bowling award, including a 7-wicket haul at Olicanian, and took 5 wickets on making his 1st XI debut. This year our 1st XI was captained by Neil Spragg. Overseas player was South African Jonny Stander, who scored 364 runs at an average on just over 18  with a top score of just 52* not out, and took 16 wickets at an average of 23.5. In a tight division our 1st XI finished in a creditable 7th place in the league and comfortably secured 1st division status. Steeton lost in the 2nd round of the Waddilove cup to Collingham. With an average of 36.5 and top score of 91 Andrew Foulds was a worthy winner of the Club’s batting award. With a best return of 5-33 & an average of 21, Jon Best beat Steve Pearson to the bowling award. However Steve was a worthy recipient of the fielding award with 13 catches.

New 2nd XI captain Julian Higginson took over from Gary Boulton. The league form was good, but ending the wrong side of a couple of games meant the 2nd XI finished in runners-up the 1st division…although it went down to the last match! A successful 2nd XI was sometimes detrimental to the 1st XI, with team selection giving priority to the 2nd XI rather than the 1st XI, after they were safe from relegation. A good Birtwhistle cup run was halted at the semi-final stage by Rawdon. Our 2nd XI recorded 4 centuries, with 3 for opener Mick Wilson: Mick scored 150* v Collingham & Linton in the Birtwhistle cup, 121 at Beckwithshaw & 107* at Rawdon. Craig Walton scored 119 at Beckwithshaw. With 1,063 runs at an average of 66 Mick easily secured both the Club and the league batting awards. Newcomer Josh Gill won the Club’s bowling award with three 5-wicket hauls, a best of 7-29 & an average of 13. Keeper Julian Higginson won the Club’s fielding award & the league’s wicket keeping award. Unfortunately this was the ‘swansong’ season for both Mick Wilson & Julian Higginson, who both announced that they would be retiring at the end of the season.

Our 3rd XI was captained officially by Hayden Tennant, although it was Luke Watson who took much of the responsibility, with Hayden Tennant being called-up to 2nd XI duties. Steeton finished mid-table having won as many games as they lost. Any Chappell cup aspirations were short-lived as we lost at Guiseley in the 2nd round. Steeton 3rd XI recorded 1 century courtesy of the dependable Mark Chapman, who scored 105* at Olicanian. Mark won the 3rd XI batting prize with an average of almost 43; and with a average of 14.13 Mark Pennington narrowly beat Luke Watson to the Club’s 3rd XI bowling award. Luke had recorded the Club’s best ever 3rd XI bowling figures of 7-33 at Otley. Veteran Phil Barrett was awarded the 3rd XI Club fielding award.

The year ended with the 3rd annual ‘adult’ pantomime – a very enjoyable performance of ‘Alice in her Wonderbra’ organised by Julian Higginson. Congratulations to all the participants.

Share This: